Road trip!

belgiumIMG_6098-2

Marie emailed me, last night, asking if I’d like to go on a ‘ride-along’ with her.  Meaning I hang out with her , while she goes to various farms to trim hooves. I love this.  I get to see how other horse farms feed and water their horses.  If their horses have barns to go in to or, if they are living a more ‘natural’ existence, like Marie’s horses.  So far,  the owners of the horses have, always, been there when we arrive.  I get to talk with the owners and find out how they got in to having horses.  What their stories are.  So far everyone has been generous and shared their stories.

I arrived early , at the farm. Marie had mentioned she needed to leave by 9:30.   It takes 15-20 minutes for the beets to soak in the hot water, then another approximately 15 minutes for Kaz to eat it.  He’s not very fast!  Marie wasn’t at the farm,  when I arrived she was house sitting at a place not far from the farm.  I started without her.  Fed Johnny and got him some water.  While I was doing this Marie arrived and started filling the water troughs.  We then checked on the little lamby and the sheep and goats.  Let them out of the barn in to the sun.  The little lamb is growing!  He seems to have long hair on his legs now and a wholly coat on his body.  He was curious. Smelling the hay Marie spread for them.   He’s pretty cute!  Lacy was there, as usual.   She stays in the same spot.  Mr. & Mrs. Farmer and Marie indulge me and allow me to bring their dogs ‘treats’.  It’s only kibble Gracie eats.  But the farm dogs like it.  I pour a bunch in front of Lacy to eat it.  She barely wants to eat it , as it’s interfering with her watching the sheep.  She seems more intense now, since the lamb arrived.

Then got Kaz his meal and went to feed him.  Today Rocky &  Tina were with him. Jockeying in trying to get past me to get to the grain.  Marie came in and stood with me.  I was glad.  They seemed particularly eager today!  It’s always good, when she comes.  I always learn something.  Today’s lesson (I’m going to  call it lesson number 2, but in reality pre-blogging there were probably 50!) I regress…Today’s lesson…We were standing behind Kaz, which is normal procedure for me.  My job is to not let the horses pass me.  Marie has me keep a carrot stick (like a riding crop, but much longer) for extra ‘power’.  Rocky was facing me and Tina facing Marie.  Tina was being a bit ‘rude’, as Marie says. Being pushy.  Trying to get to the grain.  Marie kept correcting her and she’d back up.  Rocky was doing the same with me, but I am not consistent with correcting them.  I was letting him come in too close.  He appears to be smelling me, but is probably just pretending to be to move in closer (again to walk over me and get at the grain).  Marie was explaining to me about barriers.  I have a bubble around me and shouldn’t let the horse enter it.  They have been taught this , but try to go through it anyway (kind of like a bad kid!)

As she was explaining this to me (& again, my fault I was letting him in to close) he pushed even further and she corrected him and it startled him and he swung his head sideways and we ‘connected’.  I was a bit stunned.  (I’m laughing, honestly, when I write this).  Marie grabbed me…”are you alright…etc etc”…..again, like the time I fell down in front of her while ‘helping’….only my pride was hurt.  I have a good hard head.  Well!  Rocky moved back about 5 feet and just stood there with a funny look on his face.  Kind of “crap….now I’m in trouble”.  After that everyone behaved.  Me included.  I’ve thought a lot about this today.  It’s frustrating.  I understand, exactly, what she means.  It’s similar to training dogs, kids…anything.  Have to be clear with the “no” message and be consistent.  Also, these are not my animals.  I don’t want to screw up in what I’m doing with them.  Mess them up somehow with what they’ve been taught.  It’s complicated.  Good thing Marie is patient and so are her horses.

We then hit the road to go to 2 farms.  First one was a place very similar to Marie and Mr. & Mrs. Farmer’s place.  The horses live on (I think she said) 10 acres.  Looked like mostly bush with lots of paths running through it.  There are a number of ‘feeding stations’ they have access to.  Instead of the hay on the ground the hay is in bags hung on trees.  The outside of the bags is kind of a wide mesh the horses pick at with their mouths.  This is very different from Marie’s farm.  There the hay is placed on the ground and the horses ‘paw’ through it, which is how they would act in the wild.  The hay, I guess, lasts longer in the bags.  Some of the hay is always lost on the ground. The horses walk on it , etc and it gets ground in to the ground.  In the summer only what they will eat at each meal is given to them to avoid wasting hay.  In the winter with the frozen ground they can be given a few days worth.  The ground is frozen , therefore, it lasts longer.  Marie trimmed hooves on 2 horses at this farm.  She had a bit of a struggle with these 2.  Moving , pushing pulling.  It’s something.  Like she’s wrestling.  Wrestling something very big!

The next farm was right next door.  The people on the first farm, we were at, rent land from the next farm we went to.  That farmer has 200 acres.  Several very nice barns.  The one we were in is specially equipped for his horses.  He built it himself.  It was really something.  At this farm Marie trimmed a donkey (Jack) and 2 ponies.  Lovely little black ponies that are used to pull a cart.  These animals were so well behaved.  The farmer stood square in front of them holding their bridles.  If they even twitched they were told to smarten up.  They listened!  Much easier on Marie.

In the yard were 2 huge (I think) Belgium’s.  Beautiful animals.  Huge, huge horses. I’ve attached a picture of them, but it’s impossible to see how huge they are.  Also, attached a picture of Jack.  Gotta say.  I love donkey’s.  The farmer here was so very interesting.  He’s done lots of interesting things.  Now his main job is buying and selling horses.  He seems to love it.  Was quite animated, while telling us his stories.  Was such a great day even if I froze my feet.  Marie appeared to be just fine.  She’s a lot tougher than the volunteer from the city.  Thanks Marie!!

Going to Ottawa for a few days to visit family and see friends….

 

Leave a comment